Hundreds of millions of people across the world now log into their Facebook accounts each and every day. For most, that means posting updates, checking pictures, and keeping in touch with their family and friends. Facebook has become the number one way to stay in contact with friends and family, but it has also become a burden to a few people. There is always that chance that petty arguments will spring up, or that people will feel their privacy is somehow being invaded just by having an active account, which often leads to those folks wondering how to delete a Facebook account.
There have been countless comments made on the internet about how difficult it is to permanently delete an account, especially after a friend or loved one has passed, but there are a couple of ways to do it that are both fast and painless. Before you take the steps to delete Facebook account, you may want to consider simply deactivating it for a while. Once you take the steps to permanently delete your account, you will lose access to everything that ever appeared on your timeline. If you’re trying to figure out how to delete Facebook account search comes from an online disagreement, you might just need time to chill out instead of making that permanent cut. Deactivation can be performed by clicking a link on your security settings page.
The first thing that you will want to do before permanently deleting your account is to back-up all of the important information that you shared on Facebook. That means saving any photo’s, notes, messages, etc. that aren’t anywhere else on your computer. As mentioned earlier, all of this will be permanently erased once you take the steps to delete your Facebook account.
You may have already noticed that the option to delete your Facebook account does not show up in your account settings page, which may explain why so many folks think it is impossible. What you need to do is scroll to the bottom of any Facebook page, while you are logged in, and click on the ‘Help’ link that you will see there. Once you are in the Help Center, choose the “Manage Account’ option to be taken to the page where you can then go about completing the process of deleting your account permanently.
On the left of the screen, look for the link that says ‘Deactivating, Deleting, and Memorializing Accounts.’ Once you click on that link, you will be shown a little blurb where Facebook will present you with your options, which include deleting by following a link that says ‘fill out this form.’ This will take you to yet another page that contains a rather ominous looking, bright blue ‘Delete My Account’ button. Once you click that, you will then be asked to enter your e-mail, password, and the captcha code shown on the page, followed by a click on the ‘OK’ button. That’s all she wrote. Do not try to log into your account for the next couple of weeks and it will be permanently and completely erased.